Australian Open is one of the Grand Slam Tournaments held each year in Australia. Lots of tennis fans from all over the world come to see a great atmosphere and incredible event. This tournament is one of the greatest and successful in many ways. For playing at Australian Open final player will get 1.5 million and 1200 ATP rating points and winner – 3 million and 2000 ATP rating points. That’s the perfect way to start a new season.

Featured Players

Of course as in almost all events and in this especially we are expecting to see the same faces. They should show us the most beautiful and exciting tennis like every time. But we need to remember and hope that tennis has it’s Next Generation and this year they should prove themselves and show their potential. Players like Alexander ZverevDominic ThiemKaren KhachanovBorna Coric and Daniil Medvedev showing great tennis and hopefully, we will be able to follow these players in the future. Maybe some of them need to get more experience and time, but most of them already showed they can fight with legends of today.

Unfortunately, Andy Murray announced his retirement because of injury, however, he will play at the start of Australian Open against Roberto Bautista-Agut and it could be his last tournament.

At the first round, we will see experienced player Janko Tipsarevic playing with Grigor Dimitrov.

Most interesting fact that at the final of Australian Open we will not see Roger Federer playing with Rafael Nadal, because both players are at same draw side, that means they can play only a semi-final.

Last years

Since the beginning of the year 2010, N. Djokovic and R. Federer won most of the titles. Serbian have played in the Final in 2011, 2013, 2015 and 2016 always against Andy Murray. Only once in 2012 Djokovic played against Rafael Nadal and won against Spanish too. Last year Swiss legend won and that was 20th Major trophy and his sixth at Australian Open. Roger has the same titles as Novak, so it could be Clash of Kings if they will play at the Final this year. Most unsuccessful in this tournament is Andy Murray by playing 5 times without a victory. Almost nothing has changed since the year 2004, we can see mostly the same people in almost all of the Finals – Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray, Novak Djokovic, and Roger Federer.